Dinner Party! -with Lavender Cake!

In September I was privileged to host my friends who were travelling through Boulder at my house. We took advantage of the wonderful kitchen and made many delicious meals. One of the most daring baking adventures I embarked on was making a lavender cake with fresh lavender that I discretely picked from my next-door-neighbor’s front yard. I used a mortal and pestle to grind the lavender to go in the cake, and used extra sprigs to decorate the plate. The icing was just a simple white glaze. I couldn’t find a regular bunt pan so I used a fancy molded one, and fortunately the cake came out in one piece. I was quite pleased.

Sam, my fabulous guest who is a far superior chef than myself, made pasta a la vodka that knocked everyone’s socks off (but unfortunately it went unphotographed) and crostini appetizers with slices of peaches and blue cheese. I made brussel sprouts with bacon for a side, and of course there was plenty of wine to go around.

The previous night, after a long day of hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park, we threw together the easiest, yet tastiest combination for dessert: two-bite brownies from Whole Foods, Haagen Dazs cinnamon ice cream, and home-made espresso. I can’t figure out how to work the espresso machine at my house to save my life, but fortunately we had an ex-barrista around to work some magic.

1 Comment

Filed under United States

One response to “Dinner Party! -with Lavender Cake!

  1. nishaa

    lauren you look beautiful. and this blogs rocks! i read every single entry and am dying for more…please hurry i want a party in my mouth too.

Leave a Reply

