Christmas at My House

Yes, I know Christmas isn’t coming for another ten months, but I want to share the wonderful sweets and savory traditions from my family.  Food is really the highlight of the holiday season around my house, mainly because my mother is the most amazing baker and every Christmas Eve my stepdad makes Paul Prudhomme’s Cajun shrimp.  My stepdad lived in New Orleans for a long time and has perfected Paul Prudhomme’s recipe, the key being tons of butter and spice.  We also usually have a bush de noel.  So here is a sampling of deliciousness from Christmases past.

Above: Pistachio and Cranberry Cookies and Chocolate Truffles, Below: Snowflake Gingersnaps.  Both made by my mother.  How she decorates those snowflakes so well, I will never know.  She is an artist, so I guess that helps.

Below:  Two examples of the Cajun Shrimp with rice.  Also notice the table settings- I polish the silver 🙂

Above:  Bush de Noel from Balthazar’s!! Sooooo incredible (visually and taste-wise). See http://www.balthazarbakery.com/home.php

Leave a comment

Filed under United States

Leave a comment